What I Want to Read: 2017 Edition

So the new year is upon us, la-dee-dah. And as I am trying to figure out what to do with myself, I keep coming across books that I say I’m going to read. Then I start rearranging the order in my head saying things like “Okay, When I finish this one I’ll read the one I just bought, then I will read the one I got last week, but don’t forget you have to try that other book from your friend.” It goes on and on after that. 

Thus here we are, I am going to write down the titles I’ve been carrying around in my head, to create some sort of structure in my life.

The list will be quite short for now because I know as the year goes more books will pop up as they usually do and try to replace what I already have here.

And here is The List:

  1. A Guide to the Birds of East Africa by Nicholas Drayson – It’s only on the list because it’s the book I’m supposedly reading at present. But I’m still at the beginning.
  2. The First Phone Call from Heaven by Mitch Albom – Oh, I have kept this book hostage for years. It’s high time, I read it and return it to my awesomely patient friend. Sorry.
  3. The Japanese Lover by Isabel Allende – I am very late to this party. I’ve heard amazing things about Ms Allende, yet, haven’t read anything by her. But that is about to change.
  4. Purple Hibiscus by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – Pretty much because I love her.
  5. Far From the Madding Crowd by Thomas Hardy – It’s time for a classic.
  6. Sounds Like Me by Sara Bareilles – I don’t read much non-fiction let alone biographies. However, I adore Sara Bareilles as a musician. So should be a good read.
  7. The Rest of Us Just Live Here or anything else by Patrick Ness – He comes highly recommended from a friend, and John Green has plenty of kind words for him, so he must be something.
  8. The Sellout by Paul Beatty – Sadly, I worry that this will be my next hostage (got it from the same amazingly patient friend) but if I can make sure I read it this year. Then I can unironically say things like “New year, New me.” Despite not having any desire to say such.

Wish me luck. I will be documenting my progress on my Reading List 2017.

3 thoughts on “What I Want to Read: 2017 Edition

  1. unfurlingwonder

    When you’re done reading Purple Hibiscus, let me know. The ending really rattled me. (Not in a bad way, this isn’t a spoiler)
    So I’d love to know if you’ll have PTSD after reading it too. Lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

