Heads or Tails

Knock! Knock! The taps on the door matched the beating of her heart Thump! Thump!

“Hey, Tiwonge. What’s up?” Matt asked with the sort of cool charm that made her legs weak and her heart thump louder.

“Matt?” Half surprised to even be here. This wasn’t like her at all. But alas, here she was. “Matt! Heads or Tails?”

He chuckled, amused by her randomness so early in the morning. “Heads”

With that, she walked away, content with the answer the Universe had given. Yet, not ready to disclose that information to Matt. But he didn’t pursue it, at least not now.

Later that day, long after the sun had set, Matt stood outside on the deserted street below her window. Beckoning her to come outside.

“You didn’t tell me what the heads or tails business was about.”

“I was asking the Universe a question, and it gave me an answer.”

“What was the question?”

“I’m a bit nervous about telling you, to be honest.”

How could I possibly tell him what I meant by it?  She pondered.

“How about I give you a giant bear hug, and maybe that will remind you that you are safe with me and can tell me anything. Plus, my hugs are pretty awesome, if I do say so myself, ‘If I do say so myself. If I do say so myself’” In his best rapper imitation.

Tiwonge laughed, the idea did warm her. She agreed, nodding slightly. He took a step closer, wrapping his arms around her. In his embrace, her breathing calmed, but she couldn’t stop her mind from racing. Maybe we could stay here a little longer and he’ll forget about it. Should have told him right after asking him. Why did I have to ask him anyway?! Urgh!

“You know I won’t let you go until you tell me.” He stepped back, waking her from her reverie.

Damn it! She looked to her feet. Breathe. You can do this. But she did not look up, she felt her cheeks burning. For what felt like a silent eternity, they stood like this: His eyes watching her, hers watching the ground.

Finally, a voice, almost a whisper, told her to look up. Look to the sky it said. She had to obey. And as her eyes left the ground, she stumbled upon the most beautiful eyes searching for solace in her.6c3a2d392a244fa639a5c1240af7490e

Those eyes drew closer, as his lips met hers. Breathless.

Time stood still for them. In this intimate embrace, they escaped. Escaped the question, escaped his impending departure; escaped all reality. All her love poured out, as did his. Everything here was perfect.

As she rested her head on his shoulder, never dreaming of being anywhere else.

“The question was whether or not, I should kiss you, heads was yes” She smiled.

 

4 thoughts on “Heads or Tails

Leave a Reply

